Why write a book?

How long ago is it since I started thinking about writing a book? Was it on my bucket list? Do I even have a bucket? Was it in the stars or was it by God’s design? As I look back over certain events or choices of my life I often ask myself, “Why did you do that?” At one time we lived on a mountain side. The children and I decided to climb that mountain. Why? For no other reason than it was there. It was too much for these would-be mountaineers. We were equipped with lunch and water, beyond that we lacked knowledge, skill, equipment or understanding of the task before us. Braving bramble bushes, climbing over fallen trees and sliding on loose rocks we struggled onward and upward. It was dusty and hot as the sun added to the challenge. Did we reach the top? Not quite. What we had never noticed from below was that the last bit was almost vertical and in order to plant our flag on the very top we would have to go, not upwards, but sideways and probably around the back side of the mountain, which by this time we were reluctant to do. Even though our expedition was not completed, we had given our best effort and when we sat down to rest we looked down and behind us to view a spectacular view of our valley. We forgot all about our scratched faces, hands and arms and bloodied knees as we soaked in the reality of how far we had come. In spite of our many shortcomings, we had risen to a challenge and it was enough.

As I was writing “The Vine”, I asked myself whether I was “exercising myself in matter too great for me”. Of course the answer was “I am”. God’s assignments are always too big for us to do on our own. The subject before me was, in my estimation, far, far beyond my intelligence, knowledge, skill or experience. But the things most worthy writing about are all “too wonderful for me…things so high I cannot attain to them”, nor can anyone who measures himself against the greatest experience and wisdom of Christ in God. Yet I write, drawing on the wisdom, experience and testimony of others with the hope that still others along the trail will in their searching, be glad to find a few treasures that have made my heart glad. Contemplating to attempt writing a book I came across a Chinese proverb that said if you have been given some knowledge you are obligated to pass it along. With that and many other encouragements along the way I persevered to bring it to completion. It was my personal mountain.

Leave a comment